Interview with Emme Hathcock of This One Woman Jewelry: Part Three

This is the third piece in the This One Woman puzzle – if you missed part one click here – if you missed This One Woman part two, click here – you’ll want to catch up on all the juicy bits!

I was itching to ask her about her favorite music, the inspiration behind the esthetic, and her materials. Of course she’s not spilling all the beans on where she gets everything, but I had to try!

druzy logo

What music do you listen to while you create your one- of-a-kind pieces?
Honestly, I can’t listen to music while I design/create because I tend to sing along (and wiggle in my chair) and lose count of where the beads should go within a stitch pattern!  I instead stream movies on my computer because I don’t seem to be bothered by talking and it makes a nice background noise while I’m alone in my studio. Speaking of music though, I do get my jam on in the gym and my playlist includes everything from old school funk (Parliament) to Korn to Amy Winehouse, depending on how much push I need to get me through a routine.
What made you create your jewelry in the aesthetic that it is?
The aesthetic of my jewelry comes partly from my heritage as well as my desire to incorporate ancient bead weaving techniques into contemporary, fashionable jewelry designs. It is not a mainstream way of creating jewelry and I have never seen it done on the level I aspire to, so I decided to give this medium a try.  In college and in my travels I have been exposed to the history and meaning of adornment dating back to antiquity.  Each culture featured bead weaving patterns, from extremely simple to incredibly ornate, all with a purpose behind the design. I was drawn to the extravagant and sometimes elusive details these tiny beads create when woven together.  Beads have helped cultures to tell a story, protect the wearer, represent social status, participate in economic trade, express love to one another or simply act as personal ornamentation.  I love the tactile quality of my jewelry – there is something about the type of beading I do that makes everyone want to touch it.  It is not only pretty to look at, you can also interact with it on some primal level.  There is history behind what I do and it makes me feel a profound sense of shared humanity.
Where do you source your materials?
I source them from several places; gem shows, online, brokers, Etsy, eBay and estate sales and I sometimes repurpose old jewelry into something more modern.
silver hoop earrings
Leave a Reply

