Interview with Emme Hathcock of This One Woman Jewelry: Part One

In the spirit of artistry, I will start highlighting artists making waves in DFW! My first, I am most proud to introduce, is Emme Hathcock of This One Woman jewelry. Her hand beaded, one of a kind designs are breathtaking. After this interview, I realized there is so much more to her pieces that meets the eye. The creativity, the painstaking methodical labor, the love, the passion…it’s so much more incredible that I even knew! Stay tuned for the rest of this interview!

metal matrix necklace

How did you come up with the name of your company?
I struggled for months trying to come up with a name for my company and nothing felt right. I wanted a name with a story behind it. One day a friend and I were tossing about company names and she said something like “what do you call a company that consists of only this one woman who does it all?” and the name was born.
What were your first goals when you decided to do This One Woman?
Two years ago my naive goals were to create jewelry and sell it to everyone. The basic “build it and they will come” mentality.  It makes you want to pat me on the head like a puppy, doesn’t it?  And honestly, in the beginning I had no idea what I was capable of, so my goals continue to change as I grow as an artist and business woman.  I have already surpassed some of my goals which made me realize I did not dream big enough!   I have revised my business plan 4 times in the past 12 months because I am still learning what works and what business options are available to me that I was not aware of.  To be simplistic, my goals have gone from “I want to make pretty jewelry” to “I want to collaborate with Christian Siriano“.  I threw that in there in case he reads your blog 🙂
What made you transition from corporate America to full time jewelry maker?
The transition happened by force.  I had been creating jewelry as a hobby for several years, always dreaming that some day my designs would be on beautiful women or on the runway or featured in a magazine.  If I only had the time.  Suddenly my whole world turned upside down. I got divorced and two weeks later I was laid off from my cushy management position. Talk about reality slapping you in the face. I felt lost like I was waving in the wind.  I had no direction, no identity and no security.  Yet during the months that passed, a small voice inside me kept whispering “Live your dream. It’s time.”.   I am a firm believer that everything happens for a reason and I think that seemingly unbearable situation I found myself in at that time gave me the push I needed to finally go for it. While I was worrying about how to pay my rent I met with business people, found mentors, took business classes, wrote a business plan, learned new design techniques and moved forward with the strength and determination I never knew I had. And the designs just flowed out of me. You never know how strong you are until your only option is to be strong. That period was the darkest time in my life and I hope I never forget the hunger and drive I felt back then to make my business a success.

Stay tuned for part 2 of this awesome interview!

Leave a Reply

